When at Last…

Gentle Shepherd lead me on,

To the place where I belong.

Valleys wait or mountains climb,

Precious treasures, I will find.

Marching onward with my LORD,

He’s the One my heart adores.

Gloom of night, distractions past,

In your arms to be at last.

Not a void or worldly pull.

In His love, my soul is full.

At His table, I must stay,

Knit to you, I cannot stray.

Worldly wealth, my eyes can see.

Make their promises to me,

All my heart in you remains,

Earth denied is heaven’s gain.

When at last, my eyes can see!

All that you have done for me,

Feet upon my enemy

My Champion! My Victory!

Written in January of 2015, I see the preparation of my heart to constantly draw closer to My Heavenly King. I lost my earthly partner in 2022, but God is ever present. He has never left me through this process of grief and loss. The cry of my heart is for God to be bigger in all of this because it has been impossible to make my partner of over 50 years smaller. Adonai has been faithful to do that in numerous ways, every day, and sometimes every moment. I don’t feel lonely and fear is given no place of residence in my heart, though it makes many attempts to gain territory. At His table I sit, content with the portion He has allotted for this season. It is the only way I will survive this tearing of my soul.

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

Listen to this song by J.J. Heller. It is a poignant expression of the beauty of letting go when a soul can only be made whole on the other side.

Leave a comment